Family Vacation-The Paradigm Shift

get-attachment-6.aspx

We’ve been a family of five for the last twelve years.

Before that we were a “growing” family.  Now we are a ”shrinking” family, of sorts.  I say this with no sadness, just with a sort of wistful realization that it’s happening, and probably later for us than for some of our friends. Our oldest son is a rising college senior and although he has been living away from home, he has always been happy to join us on vacation. This year we planned a short family jaunt to a warm weather destination and our oldest son decided to stay up at school for the week. I don’t want to make this into something it was not. This was not a decision with earth shattering implications, but, as we have always gone away with either all the children or none of them, this was a shift in the paradigm of our normal family vacation.

I brought up the subject of vacationing as a “family of four” with the two children with whom we were vacationing thinking they would warm the cockles of my heart with tales of vacations past and the fun they had with their brother.  I have to say the kids quickly warmed to the topic and they were terrifyingly mercenary. The youngest who is not generally a paragon of enthusiasm really perked up when he realized that he wouldn’t have to sleep on the roll-a-way this time.  “You mean we each get our own bed?” he asked excitedly. And, as we climbed into a regular size taxi with our luggage, the kids noted gleefully how much easier it is to get a cab for four people with luggage than it is to get one for five.

So, that’s how we were doing, but I worried that back in Boston number one son would somehow feel left out or would be desperately concerned for our welfare so I decided to keep him in the loop. When we landed I texted him that we had arrived safely. When I said, “desperately concerned,” perhaps I meant marginally concerned.  A mere thirty-six hours later he replied, “Good, how was your flight?”

I was undeterred in my effort to be inclusive. The next morning while waiting in line to get into the Aquarium at Mandalay Bay I texted him again, “At Mandalay Bay waiting to see sharks.”  This time there was no response at all. On our last day, as we were packing to leave, the cell phone rang.  It was the prodigal son. Ah ha, I thought, he misses us. “Hi dad, I need to use the credit card to charge some stuff. Is it ok?”

After our flight landed, I sent number one son a text that we were safely home.  At least he should know that the money pipeline remained intact. I asked number two son how he felt about vacationing as a “family of four.” “I’m not giving you a quote for your blog,” he sniped, without looking up from his iPhone.  I asked hubby the same question. He said, “You can’t publish what the kids said.” I asked number three son what he thought of our vacation with two kids. “Are we having dinner tonight?” he queried.

No party was thrown. No speeches were made.  No gifts were given.  And, undoubtedly, we will vacation as a family of five again. But, this week for the first time in twenty-one years we made family vacation memories without A.

And, even if no one else was paying attention, I was.  And, I thought it was a moment worthy of note.

9 thoughts on “Family Vacation-The Paradigm Shift

  1. Before you know it, you will be vacationing as a family of six or even more with your sons’ significant others included. I’m already looking forward to reading your blog entries about those vacations. 🙂

  2. Oh I can relate to this. We want to keep “us” the family in a cocoon. The tides of life keep rolling, but I think we, the moms, feel it the most.

  3. There is something good however to be said for taking vacations with different configurations of the family. Can be kind of nice and more positive than negative. I had to laugh reading the reactions of your sons, both the ones on the trip and not. Doesn’t surprise me at all. (ok – this is the first public comment i have ever made in my life! Helene – look what you are doing!)

  4. Helene,
    I am going away this weekend with just two out of three kids and no husband so I appreciate your blog very much! Weird is a good way to describe it.

  5. Someone should blog about those single parent families who go from vacations with parent-children to parent-kid to parent alone to now grandparent-adult kids-grandchildren to utterly alone weeks in Spain or no one wants to go with you anymore but would like for you to finance their travels and you stay home.

Leave a Reply

